by Doug Warren on October 04, 2017

Story: Alex Segura and Matthew Rosenberg
Art: Joe Eisma
Lettering: Jack Morelli
Colors: Matt Herms
Publisher: Archie Comics

With a classic Archie feel and updated storyline and setting, The Archies number 1 did a lot of things right. One of the coolest things is they included a play list to listen to while reading the book. Being a music based series, it’s the perfect idea. They even included the link to listen to it on Spotify. My one complaint with it would be that I didn’t know about it before I read the book! It was at the very end, and I wish I could’ve listened to it during my first read. Oh well. I will know better next time.

And the tone was right between Your Pal Archie and the new revamped Archie. I mean, it’s not dark and gritty like Archie, but, we are missing the klutzy, error-prone protagonist and easy laugh gags. The story was fun. We start out with the band already formed and the first gig behind them. And, I was digging the plot and story until the end. The ending, it is out there. Doesn’t fit with what had already happened. Unless the next few issues show the results to be a complete debacle, I’m not sure it’s going to work.

And the art. The art was good. All except the characters. Why does every Archie line insist on the characters looking different? It looks like someone made a cheap rip-off of Archie and changed the characters just enough to avoid copyright issues. And Jughead was the worst/most unrecognizable.

I enjoyed the comic. But, it feels like it is at the cusp of either being great or a disaster. For now, I’m giving it the benefit of the doubt. 

Our Score:


A Look Inside